Dreams DO come true

I’ve been awfully quiet for a while now and haven’t had the time to write as I have been blissfully holidaying in Thailand so forgive me.

A few weeks ago, I received the news that I was offered a place to study Law (honours)/ Arts at Monash University! For the many of you that don’t know, I’ve been aspiring/wishing/dreaming to study Law ever since I was young. And not just anywhere, but specifically at Monash Uni. (Well actually, I wanted to study at Harvard… but Monash is a lot more attainable). Believe me when I say I had everything worked out. I knew what my Majors were going to be, what societies I was going to join, what electives I wanted to do…I was a freak! As Monash U Law is ranked 15th in the world and 4th in Australia, a high ATAR (entrance score) is essential.

Throughout high school, I was always confident that I would reach this goal and used to (embarassingly) fantasise about what my life would be like there, the people I would meet etc. But unfortunately when it came to the final exams, I let my anxiety and nerves get the better of me, and ended up underperforming and receiving a lower score than the clearly in to Monash.

I was devastated

This is the biggest understatement as I was a miserable wreck straight after my exams. Getting out of bed was a daily struggle and it was tiresome to go through my normal routine. I felt like all my plans were messed up, that everything I had worked for was for nothing, and that my dream to study Law at Monash was shattered.

As time passed and as I shared my worries with people who cared about me, I found peace in accepting that everything happens for a reason, and maybe my happiness and success lay down a different path. By the time the official offers came out, I was happy and content with the offer I knew I would be getting from Deakin U.

So imagine my surprise when I wake up to an email telling me that I had an opportunity to study at the University I had always dreamed about! I was beyond thrilled! Fate, destiny, God or whatever you believe in had granted me a second chance. I now know, without a doubt that THIS is the path I’m supposed to be on.

The biggest lesson I’ve learnt from this is to always have faith. When life became haphazard and threw a wrench into my perfectly laid out plans, I handled it badly, thinking that I could no longer fulfill my dreams. But now I’ve realised that with a little bit of hard work and optimism, I can achieve any dream I want to- no matter how unobtainable it seems.

As always, leave your thoughts below

Ash xx

One thought on “Dreams DO come true

Leave a Reply

