A friend in need is a friend indeed

Yesterday, I had the pleasure of meeting up with one of my closest friends when I travelled to Singapore. There is something incredibly exciting about meeting friends in foreign countries as it holds this sense of adventure and you get to explore places  beyond your usual hangouts!  Anyway, she is currently doing a fancy paid internship in Singapore while I am touring South East Asia, so we thought it’d be a perfect opportunity to catch up. It had been MONTHS since I’d last seen Bec and I was quite excited to reunite and talk about all the exciting things that had happened to us since we last caught up.

Talking to her conjured all sorts of memories, but the one thing I contemplated after our reunion, was how I can always count on her to pull through for me. I’ve lost count the number of times that Bec has had to pick up the phone and hear me bawling my eyes out on the other end. She is always there to soothe the aches and provide the comfort,  but she is also there to tell me the realistic yet often harsh truth that I need to hear. Where some people only tend to bring you down, Bec always pushed me to strive for my best in all aspects of life. She’s the type of friend who remembers your important dates, the one who will surprise you with unexpected birthday gifts, and most importantly,  puts the effort into continuing the friendship. Without her constantly asking me to meet up or call and  ask how I am during the first few months of our friendship,  I’m ashamed to say I probably would have let the connection die as I wasn’t concerned about developing relationships at that age…
  2014 was a tough year as I was doing my final exams and she was pushing through her first year of Uni, so catching up often was very challenging.  Despite this,  we were always able to pick up where we last left off and just chat the night away. There is nothing I can’t confide in her.

This is only a very superficial description of what she has done for me, as the full list would amount to a very, VERY lengthy blog post. 

image

There is an old saying that ‘A friend in need is a friend indeed’ which basically means is that in times of adversity, your true friends will be the ones who stick with you throughout. If you’re in ‘need’ of help, the friends worth keeping will offer you comfort/advice/assistance no matter what. And I am incredibly lucky, no, EXTREMELY fortunate that I’ve found that person.

They say stress changes a person, but it can also weed out your true friends by providing a test of who will help you through the stressful times. Almost everybody will find that certain people in their life will fail that test, and thus drift away from them. It’s a tough, but necessary experience in order to continue growing. That said, everybody will also find that they DO have a true friend lurking in the shadows, always ready to provide a helping hand- and that is the greatest gift of all.

I’ve drifted apart from many friends, but I’ve also gained friendships and made significant connections with a number of incredible people. The beauty of realizing that there are still good, genuine people who honestly care about me and who value me for who I am outweighs and even removes the pain that usually comes after a loss.

As H.H Humphrey once said, “The greatest gift of life is friendship, and I’m lucky to have found it.”

image

As always,feel free to leave your thoughts below 🙂
Ash xx

2 thoughts on “A friend in need is a friend indeed

    • ashgal25 says:

      That is so true, and unfortunately I’ve lost more than I’ve gained. But I guess that’s what makes those true friends incredibly valuable and worth keeping

      Like

Leave a Reply

