Be here now

No, I’m not being rude and asking you to literally come here immediately.  I’m talking about a much more complicated theory- Mindfulness

I’d hear this word many times before, but never tried to find out more about it till the middle of my exams. A teacher told me to download the app ‘Smiling Minds’ which is a series of podcasts training you to be more mindful. In a nutshell, mindfulness is all about being in the present and embracing the ‘now.’ It took me a while to understand what that meant, but a coffee date with a friend clarified the gist of it for me.

Don’t dwell over the past: no sighing and saying ‘I wish this happened’ or ‘I should have done this’
Don’t look too far into the future: Don’t fanstasize too much about what you want your life to be
Focus on the Now: Just concentrate your senses and your thoughts on this exact moment

It sounds so simple when someone explains it to you and mindfulness is supposed to make you a more positive person, but implementing it proves to be far more challenging.  I can’t help but think back to past situations or imagine my future self. It’s hard to change! 

Thankfully,  Kikki-K, which is now my FAVORITE stationary store, came up with this Mindfulness box which comes with journals and quote cards to remind you to be present and in the now. The packaging is adorable, which is what I love most,  but it’s still hard to put mindfulness into practice. 

image

Mindfulness in a box (middle) along with my other kikki-k products

image

Contents of box. Taken from Kikki-K website

Long story short, I NEED HELP!
So if you’re one of those lovely people who are all about positivity, embracing change and being mindful, shoot me a comment below as I would love to know more about you and how to be mindful 🙂

Ash xx

3 thoughts on “Be here now

    • ashgal25 says:

      Happiness is personal and a multi-faceted concept, so you’re probably not alone in not being mindful. I guess it doesn’t matter HOW you’re happy, just so long as you are 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

